I am here, I am safe, more later!

I am safely in Alexandria, not to worry! We waited for everyone to arrive at the Cairo airport yesterday, which put us at our Alexandria dorms around 1:45 am Egyptian time, so we were a bit bleary eyed as our Egyptian roommates began to show us the ropes. Luckily, the program gave us a bit of a late start this morning, and we spent today getting acclimated. We had some program-specific orientation, enjoyed dinner at an Egyptian restaurant, got our Egyptian phones set up, and went to Carrefour (think Wal Mart) for the basics we weren’t really able to pack. This included my first two Egyptian cab rides on which I am sure there will eventually be enough material for an entire blog post, suffice it to say the number of lanes is really more of just a guideline as to how many cars will fit across a street. The girls in the dorms are extremely friendly and I am really looking forward to getting to know them. The program staff are all wonderful so far as well. Possibly best of all is cAam Ahmed, who works upstairs in the TAFL Center (our home base) making coffee, Turkish coffee, tea and juice all day—good to know I can remain properly caffeinated. So far I am really optimistic about everything, though certainly we are easing into things so far. Mostly this post is just to let everyone know that I am here, I am safe, I am happy, and I am very very excited about the months ahead. Love from Al-Iskandria!

One thought on “I am here, I am safe, more later!

Leave a Reply

